Amazing Elevators

9 Feb

I know elevators don’t sound like the most glamorous topic, but I couldn’t believe how cool these ones are!  They were featured in BudgetTravel.  I’ve been in one of them (the one that goes up the St. Louis Arch!) but I really want to see some of these others…

This elevator in Germany goes THROUGH an aquarium!  Pretty sure I would never take the stairs again.

AquaDom

AquaDom

This is the sweet elevator pod you ride in to the top of the Arch.  They jam 5 people into this tiny space, so you really get to know your neighbor during the 4 minute ride!

St. Louis Arch

This 499 foot elevator in Switzerland is equal parts beautiful and terrifying!

Hammetschwand Lift

Hammetschwand Lift

You can get a good view of Stockholm by taking this little round elevator up the outside of a dome.  Reminds me of Epcot Center!

Skyview - Ericsson Globe

In China, this elevator takes you over 1,000 feet up a sheer cliff!  Then you can visit the Sky Walk which looks gorgeous but kind of scary (have you figured out I’m afraid of heights?)

Bailong Elevator

Bailong Elevator

Don’t these pictures make you want to travel?  Which elevator was your favorite?  If you want to see all of them, the article is here.

3 Responses to “Amazing Elevators”

  1. Alex February 9, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Wow – that’s quite the list of elevators. Not sure that I would travel just to visit one, but I would certainly make a point of checking those out if I were in the area. Honestly, I kind of like the fish tank elevator best, but the cliff-side path looks like a better end result.

    • zoltartoldme February 9, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      I agree- I wish they could have combined the fish tank with the cliff path! That would be amazing. But even so, I think a day at the office would be better if you could zoom up through an aquarium on your way to a different floor.

      • Alex February 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

        I may have to bring that up one of these days with the owners of the building. I think a giant aquarium would really improve the elevator ride.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

